>Freestyle Skiing Canada

open

Athletes

Close Menu
Maxime Dufour-Lapointe

Maxime Dufour-Lapointe

  • Freestyle Skiing
  • Maxime walk
  • Maxime Dufour-Lapointe January 17
  • Maxime Dufour-Lapointe January 17
  • MDLapointe
  • IMG_4156
  • MDL
  • MO M. Dufour-Lapointe

Vitals

Date of birth

February 9, 1989

Age

24

Place of birth

Montréal, Que.

Hometown

Montréal, Que.

Discipline

Moguls – B Group

Height

5’ 6’’

Weight

138 lbs

Year you made the National Team

2006

Coach(es)

Jean-Paul Richard, Marc-André Moreau, Paul Gagné, Steve Omischl

Personal career highlights

Forerunner at the Vancouver Olympics.
4th – 2009 La Plagne World Cup (duals)

Club affiliation (as a kid)

Mont-Tremblant ski club

Languages you speak?

French, English

Social media sites

Facebook: Les Soeurs Dufour-Lapointe
Twitter: @3_SDL

Bio

Nickname

Max

My motto

What can I do to better myself?

Education

I have my college diploma in Natural Science and want to study medicine in university.

Hobbies/Interests

During my free time, I go surfing, horseback riding, sailing and I like to draw.

I never leave home without…

My sunglasses!

Any pre-competition superstitions?

It’s a little weird, but I almost always start by putting on my left ski.

What’s the biggest challenge you’ve had to overcome to get this far in your ski career?

In 2011, I ended up having to compete on the NorAm instead of the World Cup circuit. That was especially hard for me, but I decided to make the best of the experience to learn and become a better athlete. In the end, I realized that it was one of the best things that could have happened to me, because I came out of it bigger, stronger, and more determined than ever.

Life goals outside of sport

To become a doctor

How did you get into freestyle?

I started freestyle skiing at the age of 12 because I had a childhood friend who was doing it. When I saw him compete, I thought, “I could do this!” At first, my favourite part of it was the jumps.

Do you currently support a charity?

My sisters and I support Fitspirit, a non-profit organisation that promotes physical fitness for high-school girls. Also, at the end of each season, my sisters and I hold a ski camp (3SDL) for young female freestyle skiers from Quebec.

It would surprise you to know that…

I was one of the first women to perform a back-full in competition, in 2009.

Favorite World Cup / AFP stop and why?

I love going to Are, in Sweden. The course looks easy at first glance, but has features that add excitement. Plus, the ambiance in Are is wonderful and the food is great.

Three words that describe you?

Determined, hard-working, intense.

Results

Related Stories